Below are the cannabis-related bills that have been introduced in the U.S. Senate and are considered priority legislation by NCIA. Following the legislative summary, you will find information about members of the Senate who are supporting NCIA priority legislation.

S.776: Marijuana Revenue and Regulation Act
Amends the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to provide for the taxation and regulation of marijuana products, and for other purposes.
Sponsors: Sen. Ron Wyden* (D-OR)

S.777: Small Business Tax Equity Act of 2017
Amends the Internal Revenue Code to exempt a trade or business that conducts marijuana sales in compliance with state law from the prohibition against allowing business-related tax credits or deductions for expenditures in connection with trafficking in controlled substances.
Co-sponsors (* = Original co-sponsor): Sens. Ron Wyden (D-OR), Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*, Rand Paul (R-KY)*, Michael Bennet (D-CO)*, Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA)*, Cory Gardner (R-CO), Al Franken (D-MN)

S.780: Responsibly Addressing the Marijuana Policy Gap Act
A bill to amend the Controlled Substances Act to reduce the gap between Federal and State marijuana policy, and for other purposes.
Sponsor: Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)

S.1152: SAFE (Secure and Fair Enforcement) Banking Act
To create protections for depository institutions that provide financial services to marijuana-related legitimate businesses, and for other purposes.
Co-sponsors (* = Original co-sponsor): Sens. Ron Wyden (D-OR)*, Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Rand Paul (R-KY)*, Michael Bennet (D-CO)*, Cory Gardner (R-CO)*, Patty Murray (D-WA)*, Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)*, Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)*, Brian Schatz (D-HI)*, Sen. Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI), Kamala D. Harris (D-CA), Al Franken (D-MN), Edward Markey (D-MA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Robert Menendez (D-NJ)

S.1374: Compassionate Access, Research Expansion, and Respect States (CARERS) Act of 2017
Extends the principle of federalism to State drug policy, provides for state-sanctioned medical access to marijuana, enables research into the medicinal properties of marijuana, solves banking crisis, addresses CBD oil.
Sponsor: Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ)

  1. 3032: Strengthening the Tenth Amendment Through Entrusting States (STATES) Act

Ensures that each State has the right to determine for itself the best approach to marijuana within its borders. The bill also extends these protections to Washington D.C, U.S. territories, and federally recognized tribes, and contains common-sense guardrails to ensure that states, territories, and tribes regulating marijuana do so in a manner that is safe and respectful of the impacts on their neighbors. Co-sponsors (* = Original co-sponsor): Sens. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Cory Gardner (R-CO)*, Rand Paul (R-KY)*, Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)*, Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)*, Cory Booker (D-NJ)*, Dan Sullivan (R-AK)*, Michael Bennett (D-CO)*, Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

S.3174: Marijuana Freedom and Opportunity Act
To deschedule marijuana at the federal level, take steps to help women and minority-owned businesses enter into the marijuana industry, invest in research to fully understand the effects of THC on driving and public health, and authorize a new grant program to provide incentives for states and local governments to adopt or expand expungement or sealing programs for convictions of simple possession of marijuana.
Sponsor: Sen. Charles E. Schumer (D-NY)
Co-sponsors (* = Original co-sponsor): Sens. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)*, Bernard Sanders (I-VT)*, Tim Kaine (D-VA)*, Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*, Ron Wyden (D-OR)*, Michael F. Bennet (D-CO)*, Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)*